Olympus Outdoors Gear Snow Picket-Anchor

While searching for a good Snow Picket/Anchor, I have decided to create my own ones. I have done extensive research and I have studied several documents on what are the important elements to make the best possible snow picket.

One of the main resources has been the research by Don Bogie “Snow Anchors for belaying and rescue”, the research by Art Fortini named “Failure modes of Snow Anchors” and the full documentation on Snow Anchors by Don Bogie.

I have studied the aforementioned documents and several other information extensively and later on I have start to design the Snow Pickets according to my needs by keeping in mind to have them as durable and as light as possible.

The first sketch and V.01 of the Snow Picket was the following:

Screenshot 2016-06-30 at 17.38.28

After some adjustments I was finally able to have the final version of the design which looked like the following 3D renderings:

 

The final result is the following:

 

All edges have been filleted:

IMG_3039

Some Details:

  • Alluminum L Angle
  • Dimensions: 40 x 40 mm
  • Thickness: 3mm
  • EN-AW-6060
  • Weight: 265 gr.
  • Color Treatment: anodized aluminum
  • Cost: 15 euro / item

Whoever would like to use my drawings as a reference, from this link can get the technical drawings. If you are interested to receive an Olympus Outdoors Gear Snow Picket, get in touch with us and we will send you one.

NOTICE: The Snow Pickets presented on this blog, are to be produced and used with your own responsibility. We do not have any responsibility in case of failure of the snow pickets.